Hidden in a lush geography on the cool slopes of Bozdağlar, Birgi, with its centennial wooden windows, is a village in turkey that should be visited. Birgi, a village connected to Ödemiş where is 110 km away from Izmir, is like a hidden treasure of history and culture with its lush texture. The history of Birgi, a small village of 3000 inhabitants, dates back to two thousand BC. Every civilization left a trace of itself on Birgi where is extant as belongs to Phrygians, Persians, Pergamon Kingdom, Byzantines, Romans, Aydınoğulları, and later the Ottomans.
Birgi is a very pretty village that is located on the southern slopes of Bozdağ rising at the beside of the Ödemiş Plain. Birgi becoming a quarter by connecting to Ödemiş, is a place where must be explored for photographers and travelers with their wooden window houses. The village established on two sides of the Sarıyar River has an important place with its historical and cultural accumulation.
Birgi is from places that have announce their name since the early ages. Birgi and its surroundings where the Lydians, Persians, Helen and the Romans lived, was called Pyrgion during the Byzantine era. It was also the capital of the Aydınoğulları Principality founded by Aydınoğlu Mehmet Bey in 1308. After Aydinoglu Mehmet Bey, who was a Turkmen commander, establish order in Birgi and made it to the capital, Birgi experienced the golden period. There were sixty cities and thirty fortresses of the Aydinoglu Principality, which ruled in a geography up to Chios and Mora for more than a hundred years.
On these days, Birgi was one of the important scientific and religious centers of Aegean geography. Birgi continued to be a cultural city during Ottoman times.
Places to Visit in Birgi
Birgi is now one of the protected urban sites. It is decorated with narrow streets bearing the remnants of many civilizations and traces of the civilizations that lived on it throughout history; A village worth seeing with its old houses, madrasa, tombs and mosques.
Çakırağa and Sandikoglu mansions are at the beginning of the places to visit in the village where is aspirant for being an open-air museum with traditional architecture, monumental heritage and pleasant streets,.
Çakırağa Mansion is a magnificent three-storey house built in 1763 by Mustafa Şerif Çakırağa, whose timbers were brought from Venice. The mansion is a very special place with the traces of European architecture and pen ornamentation. Almost all rooms and ceiling decorations are very beautiful. If you look carefully, you can see the pictures of 72 kinds of fruits and vegetables grown in Küçük Menderes Basin. The restored mansion now serves as a museum connected to the Ministry of Culture.
The Great Mosque, one of the first mosques of the period of Beyliks, was built by Mehmet Bey in 1312. The ancient lion chapel on the southern wall of the mosque which is one of the best examples of Turkish-Islamic architecture, is quite interesting for a mosque. Ulu Cami, also noted for its wooden workmanship, is also a center of attraction with its minarets covered with chinas.